clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MLS Confirms Format For MLS Play-offs

Impact needs sixth or better to avoid preliminary play-off

SOCCER: NOV 22 MLS Conference Final Leg 1 - Toronto FC at Impact
The Last Time. The last play-off fixture in Montreal was the 2016 Eastern Conference Final against Toronto FC. Here, Dominic Oduro scores the opening goal past TFC’s Clint Irwin. Impact won this first-leg 3-2
Photo by David Kirouac/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

MLS today confirmed the format for the MLS Cup play-offs.

Like last year these will be single-leg knock-out matches, much like the English FA Cup.

Unlike last year, no fewer than 18 clubs will still be involved at the conclusion of regular-season soccer, eight in the West, which has 12 clubs, and ten in the East, which comprises 14.

All eight Western Conference teams will directly advance to the first round of the play-offs, however with the greater numbers in the East, only teams finishing in the top six will go directly into the first round. Teams finishing in positions 6th to 10th will have to go through a play-off preliminary round before advancing for the first round proper.

Montreal currently occupy one of those coveted top six spots in the East. They sit sixth on 13 points with four clubs beneath all within 3 points. Montreal however has played a game less than all three.