clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Canadian Championship 2020 Plans Unveiled

MLS clubs will all join the competition at the quarter-final stage.

MLS: Canadian Championship-Montreal Impact at Toronto FC
Defending champions, Montreal Impact will oppose either Halifax Wanderers or AS Blainville in the first match in the defence of their Canadian title.
Kevin Sousa-USA TODAY Sports

The window for Canada Soccer’s 2020 Canadian Championship will run from June to September next year.

All three Canadian MLS clubs will enter the competition at the quarter-final stage (July) with Montreal Impact and Toronto FC in the Eastern half of the draw and on a semi-final collision course. For that to happen, Impact must prevail over Halifax Wanderers or AS Blainville, while Toronto FC must defeat the winners of the game between York9 and first-time entrants, Master’s Football Academy.

In the Western half of the draw, Cavalry FC are the fourth club to receive a bye to the quarter-finals, as the CPL club that advanced furthest in last season’s competition.

There are two all-CPL affairs in Qualifying Round 1’s two-legged June matchups. FC Edmonton will face Pacific FC from Vancouver Island, while Valour FC from Winnipeg and Forge FC, the inaugural CPL champions, from Hamilton will meet.

Canadian Championship bracket...