clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The 2012 Amway Canadian Championship: the Voyageurs Cup

Credit :
Credit :

The road to the CONCACAF Champions League and the not so far past of Montreal Impact history will pass by the 2012 Amway Canadian Championship and its trophy: The Voyageurs Cup. Originally known as the Voyageurs Cup and taking other names like the Nutrilite Canadian Soccer Championship, with 3 MLS teams out of 4 in the 2012 edition, the stakes are high and dont count Edmonton FC out.

Let's look at the 2012 tournament format:

  • The 2012 Amway Canadian Championship features a four-team format with teams taking part in a two-legged home-and-away semi-final before repeating the same process in the final. The winning club will lift the Voyageurs Cup and earn the right to represent Canada in 2012-13 CONCACAF Champions League.
  • The two winners of both semi-finals will then contest the Championship final over two matches on 16 and 23 May. The highest-seeded team in the Championship final will determine whether it plays home or away first.

Official Schedule

All 2012 Amway Canadian Championship will be on Rogers Sportsnet in english and the Montreal Impact games are available in French on TVA Sports.


2nd May 2012:
Impact Montréal v Toronto FC - Montréal, QC (Stade Olympique)
FC Edmonton v Vancouver Whitecaps FC - Edmonton, AB (Commonwealth Stadium)

9th May 2012:
Toronto FC v Impact Montréal - Toronto, ON (BMO Field)
Vancouver Whitecaps FC v FC Edmonton - Vancouver, BC (BC Place)


16th May 2012:
Winner of Semi-Final 1 v Winner of Semi-Final 2 - Location TBD

23rd May 2012:
Winner of Semi-Final 2 v Winner of Semi-Final 1 - Location TBD

Roster submitted

The Montreal Impact submitted its 2012 Amway Canadian Championship as follows. The other teams roster can be found here.

Goalkeepers Defenders Midfield - Forwards
Donovan Ricketts Nelson Rivas Felipe Martins
Greg Sutton Shavar Thomas Patrice Bernier
Evan Bush Tyson Wahl Sanna Nyassi
Hassoun Camara Eduardo Sebrango
Matteo Ferrari Justin Braun
Jeb Brovsky Collen Warner
Zarek Valentin Justin Mapp
Calum Mallace Davy Arnaud
Josh Gardner Bernardo Corradi
Gienir Garcia Lamar Neagle
Karl Ouimette Bryan Arguez
Sinisa Ubiparipovic
Miguel Montano
Andrew Wenger
Evan James
Lefevre, Wandrille