clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Laurent Ciman named MLS Defender of the Year

The newcomer hailing from Belgium impressed the league and is named the MLS Defender of the Year.

Dan Hamilton-USA TODAY Sports

Leaving his loved Standard de Liège for the MLS shores of Montreal, Laurent Ciman did not take too long to impose himself as a back-line boss for the Montreal Impact. His noble reason to leave Europe ( for better conditions to treat his autistic girl) is only matched by his generosity on the pitch and leadership skills overall.

From a magical CONCACAF Champions League Run to a deep MLS Playoffs run, Ciman was part of a better,faster, stronger Impact team that has gone through its up and downs.

Via the club,

I would like to thank all the players, clubs and media for their vote.This is a great achievement to win this award, but we have to work harder to get even better next year. This is a nice individual honour, but I have to credit my teammates who were just as good.

A Belgian international, Ciman was recognized as a top MLS defender earlier this season when he was selected for the 2015 MLS All-Star game, facing Tottenham Hotspur.


2015: Laurent Ciman - Montreal Impact
2014: Chad Marshall - Seattle Sounders FC
2013: Jose Goncalves - New England Revolution
2012: Matt Besler - Sporting Kansas City
2011: Omar Gonzalez - LA Galaxy
2010: Jamison Olave - Real Salt Lake
2009: Chad Marshall - Columbus Crew
2008: Chad Marshall - Columbus Crew
2007: Michael Parkhurst - New England Revolution
2006: Bobby Boswell - D.C. United
2005: Jimmy Conrad - Kansas City Wizards
2004: Robin Fraser - Columbus Crew
2003: Carlos Bocanegra - Chicago Fire
2002: Carlos Bocanegra - Chicago Fire
2001: Jeff Agoos - San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Peter Vermes - Kansas City Wizards
1999: Robin Fraser - Los Angeles Galaxy
1998: Lubos Kubik - Chicago Fire
1997: Eddie Pope - D.C. United
1996: John Doyle - San Jose Earthquakes